top of page
  • 작성자 사진Noh Hyun-jin

[On Campus] Meet “Paran Sadari (Blue Ladder)” Crossers

No. 154 / Oct 18, 2021

Ajou University recently recruited participants for the 2021 winter vacation “Paran Sadari” project. Due to COVID-19, this project was canceled in 2020, and this year it will be conducted online. The “Paran Sadari” project, in conjunction with the Ministry of Education and the Korea Student Aid Foundation (KOSAF), supports all local education, aviation, and dormitory expenses for four weeks of training at overseas universities for students that meet specific income quintiles. Different universities oversee the project by region, and Ajou University is one of the five universities overseeing Seoul, Incheon, and Gyeonggi-do. Since, it has the benefit of selecting 80% from Ajou University in that region. In addition, the “Paran Sadari” project originated from the “AFTER YOU” project from Ajou University, and it was thus named “Paran.”

The Ajou Globe (The AG) interviewed Kim Se-mi (3rd grade, Department of Political Science and Diplomacy / Shanghai Jiaotong University, 2019.07), and Kang Jee-hye (4th grade, Department of Digital Media / University of Washington, 2019.07) to obtain information regarding participation.


Q. What motivated you to participate in the “Paran Sadari” project and apply for that university?

A. Se-mi: I was interested in exchange students and language training. I applied for Shanghai Jiatong University because I was studying Chinese before and I wanted to get a more advanced education.

A. Jee-hye: Personally, I was interested in gaining overseas experience, as one of the reasons for choosing Ajou University is that there are many overseas programs. Finally, I applied for the “Paran Sadari” project after a year of waiting. The reason I chose Washington University is that I’ve already been to China and it is in the busiest city of the offered options.


Q. What did you think was your strength when applying?

A. Se-mi: There was a program to visit cities other than Shanghai, and I suggested dividing into groups to carry out the mission. This is because I thought it was an opportunity to get close and improve the language skills. I tried to focus on “language training” as the most basic purpose.

A. Jee-hye: I stated that I’m a self-directed learner and have a goal-oriented attitude. I tried to reveal that I was the one who could best utilize the experiences from the “Paran Sadari” project. Even if you are actually a little unsure of your future career path, it is important to write it in a confident manner.


Q. In addition to supported expenses, personal expenses such as food, visa fees, and transportation expenses for a month, the notice stated about 1 million won (846 dollars), but actually how much was it?

A. Se-mi: It cost about 800,000 won (676 dollars). Prices are low, so I could give gifts to my family and friends.

A. Jee-hye: 1 million won is very less because the United States (U.S.) prices are high. I think it would have cost at least 1.5 to 2 million won (127 to 169 dollars) because it was not just the stay but also for travel purposes.


Q. What programs were there and how was it? (Language intensive class, mentor-mentee program, after-school program, capstone/team project)

A. Se-mi: I did a “Pudao” program where one can learn a language from a Chinese friend in the form of mentor and mentee. In addition, I learned Tai Chi through an after-school program. There were calligraphy and advanced language classes too, but I chose the Tai Chi to experience Chinese culture with my body. It was nice. However, apart from the programs, it was a precious experience to go to Disneyland with people I got close to in Shanghai. We got closer by playing games while waiting.

A. Jee-hye: Language classes are the default, and there are several after-school programs that I could participate in according to my own schedule. I only participated in the program I personally needed, and I was satisfied. However, apart from the programs, I liked the time I laughed and chatted in the dormitory lobby with friends I made in the U.S.


Q. Did the “Paran Sadari” project directly help you with your major or career?

A. Se-mi: It wasn’t directly helpful to my major, but it was helpful in choosing a lecture when taking classes. Also, it has helped to obtain a Chinese language certificate.

A. Jee-hye: It seems to depend on what you do there. Another student majoring in Department of Digital Media filmed a video related to K-Pop in the U.S. If you do such activities locally, I think it will be a great help to your career path.


Q. What was good about the “Paran Sadari” project?

A. Se-mi: First of all, it was good to be given a chance to live in another country for a month. Also, I got to know good people in Shanghai, and my interest in China has also increased.

A. Jee-hye: It was a great experience to be able to live in a distant country, the U.S., for a month through the state and school’s support.


Q. Are there any regrets about the project?

A. Se-mi: I hope the “Paran Sadari” project result presentation will be held more systematically. Students’ participation was low as it was held during class.

A. Jee-hye: Since only the University of Washington has a team project, it tended to fit in only with team members. It was a pity that we couldn’t make memories together.


Q. Who do you recommend the “Paran Sadari” project to?

A. Se-mi: I recommend it to students who want to go abroad and have a good experience. Rather than going around without motivation, I hope you can actively participate in the program and enjoy learning.

A. Jee-hye: I encourage you to try to go for it if you meet the income quintile.


 

By Noh Hyun-jin, AG Reporter

noh0605@ajou.ac.kr

조회수 13회댓글 0개

Comments


bottom of page