top of page
작성자 사진Kim Min-ji

[On Campus] The Advice of Former Editors-in-Chief of The Ajou Globe

No.159 / Sep 5, 2022

The Ajou Globe (The AG), established on April 12, 1989, is Ajou University’s quarterly English newspaper containing articles on various topics to help foreign students easily access the news on and off campus. Former editors-in-chief of The AG are active in not only the media but also various other professional fields. Among them, The AG interviewed the 22nd editor-in-chief Kang Prum who majored in the Department of Political Science and Diplomacy as main major and the Department of French Language and Lirerature as a double major (Program Officer, Trilateral Cooperation Secretariat (TCS)), and the 31st editor-in-chief Lee Yun-zee (4th grade, the Department of Economics), the most recent graduate of The AG. The two sat down with The AG to give a glimpse into their life and share some advice for current and aspiring reporters.


Q. Besides being active in The AG, what other activities did you do? Also, how would you rate yourself as an editor and a student?

A. Prum: As the editor-in-chief, I had a lot of work at The AG; in fact, the reporters used to jokingly refer to the position as “the editor-in-chief major in The AG department”. Therefore, I did not engage in any other special activities. If I were to describe my university life, I would say I was a student devoted to The AG.

A. Yun-zee: Though I was active in The AG, I tried to live my university life to the fullest by participating in various school programs. I see myself as an open-minded student and editor and I value communication with people, and this was the case even when I was the editor-in-chief.


Q. What were your motivations or aspirations for applying to The AG, and how did you prepare for admission?

A. Prum: I was looking for a new active experience during my university life; also, the position involved utilization of English language skills, which I was most confident about at the time. Rather than preparing something special, I honestly wrote the motivation.

A. Yun-zee: Before I joined The AG, I was preparing to study abroad. However, COVID-19 broke out, and so, that plan got canceled. A friend, who was a reporter at The AG, then advised me to join The AG. I liked to read articles in various fields and write. I was also interested in languages. So, I thought joining The AG would be a fun and rewarding experience while at university. I looked through The AG’s articles and thought about the skills necessary for a reporter and the role I could play. In my application, I mentioned winning a prize in a writing contest and my experience as a journalist in high school.


Q. What do you think is the most important competency in news item selection, and what method did you employ for this?

A. Prum: I think a journalist’s most important skill is gauging the current situation. No matter how interesting a topic is, it is worthless as an article if it is out of touch with the world, we live in. Fortunately, this skill does not require any talent. Since The AG is a quarterly newspaper, referring to weekly/monthly articles that observe and analyze certain phenomena in depth, rather than a daily article that presents everyday happenings in brief, is helpful to develop an insight.

A. Yun-zee: The most important competency in item selection is not to be afraid. After a two-week meeting with reporters, the final items to be published are selected. Even if your item is rejected in the process, you must present the item without hesitation and objectively select the item to write a good quality article. I mainly referenced the blogs of public institutions, because blogs have more detailed descriptions and interesting topics than general articles.


Q. In what ways do you think your activities at The AG have proved helpful in your current job/education?

A. Prum: I am not working as a journalist or social science researcher, but I think what I learned at The AG has been a great help to me in my work in the international cooperation area. For example, to plan and implement bilateral and multilateral cooperation, it is necessary to have a good understanding of the history, culture, and society of the other countries. I wrote a lot of articles related to global affairs and culture, and the knowledge I accumulated in the process is coming in handy now. Furthermore, the industry of the international cooperation I am currently in involves the production of English publications, and so, the skills I acquired while working for The AG, such as English proofreading and layout editing, have proved very helpful in my current job.

A. Yun-zee: I am currently a student in the Department of Economics, and so, I have studied economic theory more than actual economic issues. Since I mainly wrote economic and social articles for The AG, applying the theories I have learned to the real world has helped expand my perspective.


Q. Please share some advice for Ajou University students who are hesitant to apply to The AG because of their English language skills.

A. Prum: There is a saying, “Newspaper articles should be simple enough for even kindergarteners to understand.” For reporters, language is just a tool. Fluency would be great, but the most important thing is to deliver the information clearly. Besides, AI translators are well developed these days. With the help of technology and the editor’s guidance, anyone can write a good article. And so, the advantage of working at The AG is that it can become the foundation for your growth, and you can take pride in the fact that you wrote a long English article on your own. Of course, being able to meet seniors and juniors who are like family is a bonus!

A. Yun-zee: English language skills can certainly not be ignored, but since The AG is a team effort, you can let go of your fear of English. The most important thing is taking ownership of your work; your English language skills will anyway improve through The AG’s activities.



 

By Kim Min-ji, AG Senior Editor

mmoboo77@ajou.ac.kr

조회수 12회댓글 0개

Comments


bottom of page